TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Lindsay Mendez, Ethan Slater, Nathan Lane, Laurie Metcalf Win 2018 OCC Awards

The Outer Critics Circle announces its 2018 winners, with Harry Potter and the Cursed Child topping the list.

Lindsay Mendez, Ethan Slater, and Laurie Metcalf are among this year's Outer Critics Circle Award winners.
(© David Gordon, Tricia Baron)

The 2018 Outer Critics Circle Award winners have been announced. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child tops the list, taking home six honors, including Outstanding New Broadway Play, with My Fair Lady receiving five awards, including Outstanding Revival of a Musical.

The full list of winners is below. Hyperlinked shows are currently running at time of publication. Click on links to purchase tickets.

Outstanding New Broadway Play
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding New Broadway Musical
SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Play

John Gassner Award
(Presented for an American play preferably by a new playwright)
Jocelyn Bioh, School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play

Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Desperate Measures

Outstanding Book of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Tina Fey, Mean Girls

Outstanding New Score (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Jonathan Coulton; David Bowie and Brian Eno; Plain White T's; T.I.; Domani Harris and Darwin Quinn; Brendon Urie of Panic! At the Disco; Alexander Ebert of Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros; Cyndi Lauper and Rob Hyman; Yolanda Adams; The Flaming Lips; Sara Bareilles; Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith; Lady Antebellum; John Legend; They Might Be Giants; Andy Paley and Tom Kenny; Derek Drymon, Mark Harrison, Stephen Hillenburg, and Blaise Smith; and Tom Kitt, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Revival of a Play (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Angels in America

Outstanding Revival of a Musical (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
My Fair Lady

Outstanding Actor in a Play
Andrew Garfield, Angels in America

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Nathan Lane, Angels in America

Outstanding Actress in a Play
Glenda Jackson, Three Tall Women

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Laurie Metcalf, Three Tall Women

Outstanding Actor in a Musical
Ethan Slater, SpongeBob SquarePants

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
Norbert Leo Butz, My Fair Lady

Outstanding Actress in a Musical
Lauren Ambrose, My Fair Lady

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Lindsay Mendez, Carousel

Outstanding Solo Performance
Billy Crudup, Harry Clarke

Outstanding Director of a Play
John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Director of a Musical
Tina Landau, SpongeBob SquarePants
Bartlett Sher, My Fair Lady (tie)

Outstanding Choreographer
Justin Peck, Carousel

Outstanding Scenic Design (Play or Musical)
Christine Jones, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Costume Design (Play or Musical)
Catherine Zuber, My Fair Lady

Outstanding Lighting Design (Play or Musical)
Neil Austin, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Projection Design (Play or Musical)
Finn Ross and Ash Woodward, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Sound Design (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Gareth Fry, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Outstanding Orchestrations (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Jonathan Tunick, Carousel

The Band's Visit was nominated for and received multiple awards from the Outer Critics Circle last season and therefore was not considered this year.

The awards will be presented on Thursday, May 24, at Sardi's Restaurant. Presenters during the ceremony include past winners Jenn Colella, Jim Dale, Christine Ebersole, and Martha Plimpton.


Tagged in this Story