TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Cleveland Play House Wins the 2015 Regional Theater Tony Award

The award will be presented at the June 7 ceremony.

Laura Kepley serves as artistic director of the 2015 Tony Award-winning Cleveland Play House.

Cleveland Play House has been named the 2015 Regional Theatre Tony Award winner. The award will be presented at the Tony Awards ceremony on Sunday, June 7, at Radio City Music Hall.

"Cleveland Play House is an exemplary institution in the American theatrical landscape with its long history of successful seasons and its commitment to fostering the next generation of playwrights and actors," said Heather Hitchens, president of the American Theatre Wing, and Charlotte St. Martin, executive director of the Broadway League. "We are thrilled to honor the Play House as it embarks on its centennial season."

Founded in 1915, Cleveland Play House has produced more than 1,600 productions and is currently preparing for its 100th consecutive season in 2015-16. The theater is led by artistic director Laura Kepley and managing director Kevin Moore, who strive to showcase the best in contemporary playwriting and fresh, imaginative productions of classics. CPH's recent premieres include plays by Deborah Zoe Laufer, Lee Blessing, Ken Ludwig, and Eric Coble, as well as developmental workshops of plays by Jordan Harrison, Heidi Schreck, and Pulitzer Prize winner Quiara Alegría Hudes (who is also working on a commission to be premiered in the Centennial Season). The theater also originated the 2013 pre-Broadway national tour of A Night With Janis Joplin.

The Tony Awards will be broadcast live on June 7 from 8-11pm on CBS.