TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Crystal Fox, Jeffrey Roberson, Scott Shepherd, Sandra Shipley Among Winners of 2010 Elliot Norton Awards logo
Scott Shepherd in Gatz
(© Mark Barton)
The 2010 Elliot Norton Awards, honoring excellence in Boston-area theater, have been announced. The awards were presented in a ceremony at the Paramount on Monday, May 17.

Elevator Repair Service's production of Gatz took home three awards, for Outstanding Visiting Production, director John Collins, and actor Scott Shepherd.

Also winning three awards was SpeakEasy Stage Company's Adding Machine: A Musical, which won for Outstanding Musical Production, Outstanding Design, and director Paul Melone. The Publick Theatre Boston received three awards combined for Entertaining Mr. Sloane and Whose Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Winners in acting categories included Crystal Fox (Fences), Nigel Gore (Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?), Jeffery Roberson, aka Varla Jean Merman (Phantom of the Oprah), and Sandra Shipley (Entertaining Mr. Sloane). In addition, the cast of SpeakEasy's The Savannah Disputation won an ensemble award, while actress Karen MacDonald received the Norton Prize for Sustained Excellence.

Among the other winners were John Kuntz's The Salt Girl, which was named Outstanding New Script; the Huntington Theatre Company's production of Fences, which was awarded Outstanding Production by a Large company; and Punchdrunk and American Repertory Theater's Sleep No More, which was named Outstanding Theatrical Experience.

Tagged in this Story