Harry Potter Star Michael Gambo...
Broadway Legend Maurice Hines Searches f...

Annie Baker and Rajiv Joseph Win This Year's Steinberg Playwright Awards

The awards are presented every two years to mid- and early-career American playwrights.

By New York City
Annie Baker
Annie Baker
(© David Gordon)

Playwrights Annie Baker and Rajiv Joseph have been selected as the recipients of 2013's Steinberg Playwright Awards. The winners will receive $50,000 each to support their writing.

The Steinberg Playwright Awards' mission is to promote theater as a vital part of our culture by nurturing American playwrights and encouraging the development and production of new American plays. Baker and Rajiv will accept the awards at a November 18 ceremony at Lincoln Center.

Annie Baker has written The Flick, The Aliens, and Circle Mirror Transformation, among other plays. Rajiv Joseph is the author of Animals Out of Paper, Gruesome Playground Injuries, and Bengal Tiger at the Bagdad Zoo.

comments powered by Disqus

By providing information about entertainment and cultural events on this site, shall not be deemed to endorse,
recommend, approve and/or guarantee such events, or any facts, views, advice and/or information contained therein.

©1999-2014, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy