TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Cicely Tyson, Rita Moreno, Carole King, and More Named 2015 Kennedy Center Honorees

Broadway legends fill 38th group of award winners.

Broadway veterans Cicely Tyson, Carole King, and Rita Moreno will receive 2015 Kennedy Honors.
(© David Gordon)

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts has announced the list of 2015 Kennedy Center Honorees, whose lifetime artistic achievements will be celebrated in a ceremony on December 6 in Washington, D.C.

This year's recipients are American rock band the Eagles, singer-songwriter Carole King, filmmaker George Lucas, actress and singer Rita Moreno, conductor Seiji Ozawa, and actress and Broadway star Cicely Tyson.

The group of honorees includes three artists with illustrious Broadway careers. Moreno, the only Hispanic performer to earn EGOT status, won a 1975 Tony Award for her performance in The Ritz and a 1962 Academy Award for her legendary performance as Anita in the film adaptation of West Side Story; Tyson, whose last turn on Broadway in the revival of The Trip to Bountiful, earned her a 2013 Tony Award, will return to Broadway this fall in the revival of The Gin Game; and King's biomusical Beautiful, currently running at the Stephen Sondheim Theatre, earned seven 2014 Tony nominations, including Best Musical.

"When I look at this year's outstanding slate of Honorees, I am struck by a powerful common theme — artists as history-makers, artists who defy both convention and category," said Kennedy Center president Deborah F. Rutter. "Each Honoree and their career-spanning achievements exemplify a rare quality of artistic bravery. They have pushed the limits of their gifts as musicians, actors, and storytellers to inspire generations of Americans and those around the world. Their individual paths to excellence are inspirational and their contributions to the fabric of American culture are equally permanent and timeless."

Today, the Kennedy Center launches a contest on social media (#SendMeToHonors) in which one winner will receive two tickets to attend the 2015 Honors Gala on December 6.

CBS will broadcast the gala as a two-hour prime-time special on Tuesday, December 29, at 9pm.