TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

ACT Announces Line-up for Ninth Annual Young Playwrights Festival logo
ACT's ninth annual Young Playwrights Festival, which will take place March 10-12, has announced its line-up. The Young Playwrights Festival provides young writers ages 13-18 with the opportunity to have their works presented in professional staged readings by accomplished actors and directors.

Each selected work is paired with a director, giving students the opportunity to see their writing move from the page to the stage. This year, notable directors include Sheila Daniels (former associate artistic director at Intiman and Gregory Award winner for directing 2010), Tim Hyland, Gin Hammond (award winning actress and writer), George Mount (Wooden O founder and former artistic director), Andrew McMasters (artistic director of Wing-it Productions), Kristina Sutherland, Kate Jaeger (currently directing Dr. Horrible's Sing-along Blog), and Meghan Arnette (artistic director of Live Girls Theatre).

Program A will feature Cooper Hewell's This Is Jeopardy, Nora Germani's Are You Sure You Want to Watch This?, Adam Quinn's Civilized Manner, and Ben Lawson's Naïve Nativity. Program B will include Kathryn Taylor's Birdcage, Myriah Hernandez-Charbeneau's Sex is Fun, Briana Kennedy's The Colors of Our Lives, and Jane Adams' Not Alone.

The Young Playwrights Festival is developed through ACT's Young Playwrights Program which serves more than 300 middle and high school students. Winning plays are selected by an artistic panel and will be have two performances during the three-day festival.

For more information and tickets, click here.

Tagged in this Story