Theater News

New York Musical Theatre Festival Announces Next Link Project Selections

The New York Musical Theatre Festival (NYMF) has announced the selections for the 2012 Next Link Project, NYMF’s primary writer service program. The works will be presented as part of the ninth annual festival, which will run July 9 – 29.

Next Link selections include A Letter to Harvey Milk by Jerry James (book), Laura l. Kramer (music) and Ellen M. Schwartz (lyrics), based on the short story “A Letter To Harvey Milk” by Lesléa Newman; Arnie the Doughnut, by Frances Limoncelli (book) and George Howe (music/lyrics); Flambe Dreams, by Matthew Hardy (book & lyrics) and Randy Klein (music); and Foreverman by Brett Boles (book, music & lyrics).

Also included are He’s Not Himself by Marc Silverberg (book, music & lyrics); Living with Henry, by Christopher Wilson (book, music & lyrics); My Ohio: A Swing State Duet by Dana Yeaton (book & lyrics) and Andy Mitton (music); Prison Dancer: The Musical by Romeo Candido (book, music & lyrics) and Carmen DeJesus (book); Rio by Mitch Magonet and Joey Miller (book, music & lyrics); and Stuck by Riley Thomas (book, music & lyrics).

This year’s Next Link jury includes Susan Birkenhead (lyricist), Jean Doumanian (producer), Christopher Gattelli (director/choreographer), Ann Harada (actor), Stephen Oremus (musical director/orchestrator), John Rando (director), and David Thompson (book writer).

Memberships are on sale now. Click here to purchase a NYMF membership.