Music News

Unrecorded Songs of Marvin Hamlisch Coming to CD

Broadway Records will release an album featuring tunes from ”The Nutty Professor” and more.

Marvin Hamlisch's unrecorded songs will be released on disc.
Marvin Hamlisch's unrecorded songs will be released on disc.
(© Joseph Marzullo)

Unrecorded songs from the Marvin Hamlisch musicals Smile, Ballroom, and The Nutty Professor will be heard on the new Broadway Records album Hamlisch Uncovered. The album will be released digitally December 15 and in stores on January 26.

Produced by Michael Lavine, Chip M. Fabrizi, and frequent Hamlisch collaborator Craig Carnelia, the album will also include tunes from Hamlisch and Carnelia's shows Imaginary Friends, Bullets Over Broadway, and Sweet Smell of Success. Songs from the original version of Smile feature lyrics by Carolyn Leigh, with Ballroom written with Alan and Marilyn Bergman, and The Nutty Professor written with Rupert Holmes.

The album will include the talents of Kelli O'Hara, Randy Graff, Tony Sheldon, Hayden Tee, Nancy Opel, Leah Horowitz, Marissa McGowan, Lisa Brescia, Klea Blackhurst, and Steven Brinberg.

For more information, click here.