TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Stephen Adly Guirgis, Mimi O'Donnell, Yul Vázquez to be LAByrinth's New Artistic Directors logo
Stephen Adly Guirgis
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
LAByrinth Theatre Company has announced that Stephen Adly Guirgis, Mimi O'Donnell and Yul Vázquez will take over as co-artistic directors for the company's 2009-2010 season. They succeed current artistic directors John Ortiz, Philip Seymour Hoffman, and John Gould Rubin.

In addition, Marieke Gaboury has been named as Producing Director. In a statement, Ortiz and Hoffman state that they are not leaving LAByrinth. "We'll be very involved in the Company as Board Members and continually available to the new leadership as advisors," they state.

Guirgis has penned numerous LAByrinth hit shows, including The Litttle Flower of East Orange, Our Lady of 121st Street, Jesus Hopped the 'A' Train, and In Arabia, We'd All Be Kings. O'Donnell is a costume designer whose many LAByrinth credits include A View from 151st Street, Jack Goes Boating, A Small, Melodramatic Story, and Where's My Money? Vázquez is a founding member of LAByrinth, and has appeared in many LAB productions, including The Last Days of Judas Iscariot.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story