TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Priscilla Queen of the Desert the Musical Original Broadway Cast Recording Set for March 15 In-Theater Release logo
The Original Broadway Cast Recording for Priscilla Queen of the Desert the Musical will be available for purchase at the Palace Theatre beginning March 15. The album, from Rhino Records, will be available for purchase in stores and online on April 5.

Stephan Elliott and Allan Scott have adapted the show from the Academy Award-winning film about three friends searching for love and friendship in the middle of the Australian outback. The score is made up of well-known dance-floor songs. Simon Phillips directs.

Priscilla had its world premiere in Sydney in 2006. The London production is now in its third year in the West End at the Palace Theatre. The musical recently concluded a run in Toronto, and will play Broadway's Palace Theatre, beginning previews February 28 with an official opening on March 20.

The track list for the new recording reflects changes made for the American incarnation of the musical. Songs will include "It's Raining Men," "What's Love Got To Do With It," "Don't Leave Me This Way," "Material Girl," "Go West," "I Say A Little Prayer," "I Love the Nightlife," "True Colors," "Verdi: Follie Delirio vano e questo!," "Color My World," "I Will Survive," "A Fine Romance," "Shake Your Groove Thing," "Pop Muzik," "A Fine Romance (reprise)," "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun," "Hot Stuff," "MacArthur Park," "Always On My Mind / I Say A Little Prayer," "Like A Prayer," "We Belong," and "Finally." The album will be produced by Stephen "Spud" Murphy and Frank Filipetti.

The show stars Nick Adams (Adam/Felicia), Tony Sheldon (Bernadettte), and Will Swenson (Tick/Mitzi), along with Mike McGowan (Frank), C. David Johnson (Bob), James Brown III (Jimmy), Nathan Lee Graham (Miss Understanding), J. Elaine Marcos (Cynthia), Jessica Phillips (Marion), Steve Schepis (Farrah), and Keala Settle (Shirley).

The cast also includes Ashley Spencer, Jacqueline Arnold, Anastacia McCleskey, Thom Allison, Kyle Brown, Bryan West, Tad Wilson, Joshua Buscher, Susan Dunstan, Gavin Lodge, David Lopez, Ellyn Marie Marsh, Jeff Metzler and Eric Sciotto.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story