TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Nominees Announced for National High School Musical Theatre Awards

The "Jimmy Awards" will be held on June 29.

The 2014 Jimmy Awards finalists at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre.
(© David Gordon)

The National High School Musical Theatre Awards, also referred to as the Jimmy Awards in honor of producer James M. Nederlander, have announced that 52 high school students from across America will compete for the Awards for Best Performance by an Actor and Actress at the seventh annual awards ceremony. The presentation will take place on June 29 at 7:30pm at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre.

Student performers qualify to compete in the national program by winning top honors at regional high school musical theater awards competitions presented by Broadway League member performing arts centers. Over 1,000 high schools and 50,000 students participate in these annual events.

Since its inception in 2009, the NHSMTA has enabled over $1,000,000 in university and conservatory scholarships to be awarded to talented students at the national and local level. NHSMTA nominees will prepare for their Broadway debut during a five-day professional training intensive with NYU Tisch School of the Arts' New Studio on Broadway faculty members plus other theater professionals.

Winners will be selected by a panel of judges comprising notable theater professionals including Tony Award-winning producers and award-winning casting experts: Kent Gash, Rachel Hoffman C.S.A., Arielle Tepper Madover, Alecia Parker, Tara Rubin C.S.A., Nick Scandalios, Thomas Schumacher, and Bernie Telsey C.S.A.

For the full list of 2015 nominees, click here.