TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Million Dollar Quartet to Transfer to Chicago's Apollo logo
Eric Schaeffer
(© Tristan Fuge)
Million Dollar Quartet, currently running at Chicago's Owen Theatre (at the Goodman) through October 26, will transfer to the Apollo Theatre on October 31, and run through January 4.

The musical is inspired by the December 4, 1956 recording session that brought together Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis, Carl Perkins, and Elvis Presley. It is co-authored by Floyd Mutrux and Colin Escott, and co-directed by Eric Schaeffer and Mutrux, with musical direction by Chuck Mead. The show features a treasure trove of the greatest rock, rockabilly, gospel, R&B and country standards of the 1950s, including "Blue Suede Shoes," "Fever," "Sixteen Tons," "Who Do You Love?," "Great Balls of Fire," "Ghost Riders in the Sky," and "Whole Lotta' Shakin' Goin' On."

The cast includes Levi Kreis as Jerry Lee Lewis; Lance Guest as Johnny Cash; Rob Lyons as Carl Perkins; and Eddie Clendening as Elvis Presley. Brian McCaskill plays Sam Phillips and Kelly Lamont plays Elvis' girlfriend, Dyanne.

Schaeffer is the artistic director of Virginia's Signature Theatre, where his credits include The Witches of Eastwick and Kiss of the Spider Woman. His Broadway credits include Putting It Together and Glory Days. Mutrux is best known for the film American Hot Wax.

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story