TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Kevin Adams, Martin Pakledinaz, Donyale Werle, et al. Win 2010 Henry Hewes Design Awards logo
Martin Pakledinaz
(© Tristan Fuge)
The winners of 46th Annual Henry Hewes Design Awards have been announced. The prizes will be presented in a luncheon ceremony this fall.

Donyale Werle has won in the scenic design category for her work on Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson at the Public Theater. For costume design, Martin Pakledinaz has won for the recent Broadway revival of Lend Me a Tenor. Lighting designer Kevin Adams has received the lighting design award for the Broadway musical. American Idiot.

The fourth Hewes award is given for Notable Effects, and this year will be given to the entire design team of the Signature Theater's The Orphans' Home Cycle, including Jeff Cowie and David M. Barber (scenic design), David C. Woolard (costume design), Rui Rita (lighting design), Jan Hartley (projection design) and John Gromada (sound design).

A total of 81 theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 46 productions presented during the 2009-2010 New York theater season.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee is chaired by Jeffrey Eric Jenkins and includes Theatermania's Dan Bacalzo; along with David Barbour; David Cote; Glenda Frank; Mario Fratti; and Joan Ungaro.

Tagged in this Story