TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Kathleen and Rob Marshall To Receive "Mr. Abbott" Awards logo
Rob and Kathleen Marshall
(Photo © Joseph Marzullo)
The "Mr. Abbott" Awards, bestowed by the Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation in association with the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers, will be presented this year to brother and sister Rob and Kathleen Marshall on Monday, March 7. Film producer Harvey Weinstein will also be honored that evening with the SDCF/SSD&C President's Award. The ceremony will be held at the Lighthouse at Chelsea Piers (West 23rd Street at the Hudson River).

Rob Marshall is perhaps best known for directing and choreographing the 2002 film version of the Kander and Ebb musical Chicago; his Broadway credits as director and/or choreographer include Seussical, Victor/Victoria and Kiss of the Spiderwoman as well as revivals of Little Me, Cabaret, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum, Company, Damn Yankees, and She Loves Me.

Kathleen Marshall won a 2004 Tony Award for her choreography of the Broadway revival of Wonderful Town, which she also directed. She also choreographed the Broadway productions of Seussical and Swinging on a Star in addition to revivals of Little Shop of Horrors, Follies, Kiss Me, Kate, Ring Round the Moon, and 1776.

The March 7 event will begin with a VIP cocktail reception at 6pm, followed by dinner and the awards presentation. A star-studded show directed by Rob Ashford will cap the evening. Tickets range in price from $250 to $500 and may be purchased by calling Carrie Siegel at 212-302-5359, ext. 243.

Tagged in this Story