TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

Drama League Announces 2018 Directing Fellows

Past recipients include Lila Neugebauer and Rachel Chavkin.

Jennifer Chang and Kyle Haden are two of the Drama League's 2018 Fellowship recipients.
(photos provided by Richard Hillman PR)

The Drama League has announced the 2018 Drama League Directors Project fellowship recipients. Directors chosen are Jake Beckhard, Jennifer Chang, Tara Elliott, Kyle Hayden, Myeongsik Jason Jang, Kemar Jewel, Seonjae Kim, Margaret Lee, Dennis Yueh-Yeh Li, Ivey Lowe, and Christopher Núñez.

The 11 fellowship recipients will spend a year as part of the award-winning program and have been accepted into four different programs of study: the New York Directing Fellowships, the Hangar Directing Fellowships (a partnership with the Hangar Theatre in Ithaca, NY), the Classical Fellowship for Directors of Color (a partnership with the Old Globe of San Diego, CA; the Hudson Valley Shakespeare Festival of Garrison, NY; and Shakespeare & Company in Lenox, MA); and the Leo Shull New Musicals Directing Fellowship. The early-career directors will begin with Drama League Professionals Week, where they will meet industry veterans, attend Broadway and off-Broadway productions, and start their developmental training.

Former fellows include Tony winners Diane Paulus (In The Body of the World), Rebecca Taichman (Indecent), Michael Mayer (Head Over Heels), Christopher Ashley (Come From Away), Sam Gold (Fun Home), Pam MacKinnon (The Parisian Woman), John Rando (Jerry Springer: The Opera), as well as Lila Neugebauer (The Wolves), Rachel Chavkin (Natasha, Pierre and The Great Comet of 1812), Moritz von Steulpnagel (Present Laughter), May Adrales (Vietgone), Anne Kauffman (Mary Jane), Lear deBessonet (Venus), and more.

The 84th Annual Drama League Awards, honoring Idina Menzel and Casey Nicholaw, will take place on Friday, May 18, at the Marriott Marquis.


Tagged in this Story