TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Arkin, Harden, Hurt, McDormand, Norton, Williams, et al. Receive Independent Spirit Award Nominations logo
Naomi Watts and Edward Norton
in The Painted Veil
(© Warner Independent Pictures)
New York stage veterans Alan Arkin, Marcia Gay Harden, Mary Beth Hurt, Frances McDormand, Edward Norton, and Michelle Williams are among the nominees for the 2007 Independent Spirit Awards, given to the best independent films. The winners will be announced on February 24, the day before the Academy Awards.

Arkin received a Best Supporting Male nod for Little Miss Sunshine -- one of five nominations for the film, including Best Feature. Harden, Hurt, and McDormand were recognized in the Best Supporting Female category for American Gun, The Dead Girl, and Friends with Money, respectively.

Norton was nominated as Best Male Lead for The Painted Veil, a yet-to-be-released film version of the W. Somerset Maugham novel that co-stars Naomi Watts and Liev Schreiber. Williams scored a Best Female Lead nomination for Land of Plenty.

Other notable acting nominees include Daniel Craig (Infamous), Aaron Eckhart (Thank You for Smoking), Catherine O'Hara (For Your Consideration), Amber Tamblyn (Stephanie Daley), Forest Whitaker (American Gun), and Robin Wright Penn (Sorry, Haters). The film Half Nelson earned five nominations, including Best Feature and Best Male for star Ryan Gosling. Robert Altman, who died last week, earned a Best Director nod for A Prairie Home Companion, while Oscar winner Steven Soderberg was nominated for Bubble.

Tagged in this Story