TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

2006 MAC Award Nominees Announced logo
Karen Mason
The Manhattan Association of Cabarets and Clubs have announced the nominees for the 20th Annual MAC Awards, which will be presented at 7:30pm on Monday, April 17 at the Tribeca Performing Arts Center. There are approximately 100 nominees spread out over 26 categories.

Among the noteworthy nominees: Karen Mason, who starred on Broadway in Sunset Boulevard and Mamma Mia! was nominated in the categories of Major Engagement and Recording for her CD Sweetest of Nights. Barbara Brussell was also nominated in those categories, while former Tony Award nominee Sharon McNight rounds out the Major Engagement category. Also nominated in the Recording category were Klea Blackhurst, Jeff Harnar, and Lee Lessack.

Other vocalists who received nominations in various categories include Lisa Asher, Terese Genecco, Julie Gold, Jeanne MacDonald, Craig Rubano, Matt Sigl, and Lumiri Tubo. Comedienne Adrienne Tolsch, and female impersonators Tommy Femia and Jimmy James were also among the nominees.

In the jazz categories, the nominees include such well-known performers as Karrin Allyson, Andy Bey, Bill Charlap, Freddy Cole, Kurt Elling, Allan Harris, Fred Hersch, Joe Lovano, Kate McGarry, Eric Reed, and Sonny Rollins.

Composer Henry Kreiger and lyricist Bill Russell, who collaborated on the Broadway musical Side Show, received nominations for two songs: "Ev'ry Breath and Thought" and "Wipe That Egg Off Your Face." All eight of the MAC-nominated songs will be performed at a special MAC/ASCAP Songwriter's Showcase to be held at 6pm at the Iridium Jazz Club. Jamie deRoy wll host the event, and former Tony nominee Craig Carnelia will be the special guest.

In addition, MAC announced that Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented on April 17 to Donald Smith, the founder of the Mabel Mercer Foundation, and jazz singer Sheila Jordan. The Board of Directors Award will be presented to pop singer Phoebe Snow.

Tickets to MAC Awards range from $45-$160 and can be ordered by calling 212-220-1460. Tickets to the post-awards party at Charrascuria Tribeca are $50 and can be ordered by calling 212-465-2662. For a complete list of nominees or more information, visit

Tagged in this Story