TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

2002-2003 Village Voice Obies Awarded logo
Edward Norton
(Photo © Joseph Marzullo)
The winners of the 2002-2003 Village Voice Obie Awards, which celebrate outstanding achievement in Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway theater, were announced last night at Webster Hall. The complete list of recipients follows:

Kathleen Chalfant, Daniel Davis, Christine Ebersole, Valerie Mahaffey, Lynn Redgrave, and
     Brenda Wehle, Talking Heads
Mos Def, Fucking A
Rosemary Harris, All Over
Ty Jones and J. Kyle Manzay, The Blacks: A Clown Show
Stephen Mellor, Bitter Bierce or, The Friction We Call Grief
Edward Norton, Burn This
Jim Norton, Dublin Carol
Denis O'Hare, Take Me Out
Jason Petty, Hank Williams: Lost Highway
Simon Russell Beale, Uncle Vanya
Fiona Shaw, Medea
Barry Del Sherman, The Mystery of Attraction

Emily Mann, All Over
Deborah Warner, Medea

Kimberly Glennon and Anne Lommel, costume design and mask design for
     The Blacks: A Clown Show
Anthony Ward, set design for Uncle Vanya
Kenneth Posner, sustained excellence in lighting design

Special Citation:
Art Acuna, Loy Arcenas, Lonnie Carter, Ramon de Ocampo, Ron Domingo, Jojo Gonzalez, Orlando
     Pabotoy, and Ralph B. Pena, The Romance of Magno Rubio
Brooklyn Academy of Music - International Programming
Lisa D'Amour, Katie Pearl, and Kathy Randels, Nita and Zita
David Greenspan, She Stoops to Comedy
John Kani and Winston Ntshona, The Island
Diane Beckett, Gary Brownlee, Karinne Keithley, Ellen Maddow, Carol Mullins, Randolph Curtis Rand,
     Steven Rattazzi, Tina Shepard, Kiki Smith, Louise Smith, "Blue" Gene Tyranny, Nic Ularu, and Paul
     Zimet, Talking Band's Painted Snake in a Painted Chair
Morgan Jenness, longtime support of playwrights
Erika Munk, editorship of theater
Mac Wellman, lifetime achievement

Collapsable Hole
The Immigrant Theatre Project

Ross Wetzsteon Award:
Soho Think Tank's Ice Factory series at the Ohio Theatre

Tagged in this Story