Theater News

Follies, The Iceman Cometh Take Top Honors at Chicago’s Jeff Awards

The Goodman Theatre‘s production of Eugene O’Neill’s The Iceman Cometh and Chicago Shakespeare Theater‘s staging of Stephen Sondheim and James Goldman’s musical Follies took the top honors at the 44th Annual Equity Jeff Awards, held Monday, October 15 at Drury Lane Oakbrook.

O’Neill’s drama won six awards, including Production of a Play (Large), Director of a Play (Robert Falls), Supporting Actor (Brian Dennehy), Scenic Design (Kevin Depinet), Lighting Design (Natasha Katz), and Best Ensemble.

Follies also won six awards, for Production of a Musical (Large), Director (Gary Griffin), Musical Director (Brad Haak), Principal Actress in a Musical (Caroline O’Connor), Supporting Actress (Hollis Resnik), and Costume Design (Virgil C. Johnson).

Honorees also included TimeLine Theatre Company’s production of The Pitmen Painters; lonesome roads productions’ presentation of The Doyle & Debbie Show; and actors Larry Yando (Angels in America); Bruce Artnson (The Doyle & Debbie Show); Diane D’Aquila (Elizabeth Rex); Timothy Edward Kane (An Iliad); Alex Goodrich (HERO the Musical); and Natalie West (The Butcher of Baraboo).

For more information and winners in additional categories, click here.