TheaterMania Logo
Home link

The Astaire Awards Set to Name Its 2016 Winners

The annual awards gala will honor a season of dance.

Audra McDonald as Lottie Gee and Curtis Holland as Li'l Baby C in the Astaire Award-nominated musical Shuffle Along, choreographed by Savion Glover.
(© Julieta Cervantes)

The 2016 Astaire Awards gala will be held tonight at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. Nominees from both stage and screen will be recognized for their achievement in dance and choreography throughout the season.

Broadway productions represented among the list of nominees include Bright Star, Waitress, Hamilton, She Loves Me, Shuffle Along, Tuck Everlasting, Spring Awakening, On Your Feet!, Fiddler on the Roof, Dames at Sea, and School of Rock.

Judith Jamison, artistic director emeritus of Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, will be presented with the Douglas Watt Lifetime Achievement Award, while Nigel Lythgoe, executive producer of So You Think You Can Dance, will receive the award for Outstanding Contribution to the Field of Dance. Broadway director, choreographer and Tony-nominated actor Maurice Hines, who appeared off-Broadway this season in his show Tappin' Through Life, will also be presented with a special recognition award for Outstanding Body of Work in Dance. Dr. Joan Fallon, founder and CEO of Curemark, will be recognized with a special achievement award for her work in the field of autism-related disorders.

For tickets and more information about the Astaire Awards, click here.