TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

George Salazar, Lesli Margherita, and More to Present, Perform at Drama Desks

As previously announced, Michael Urie will host the ceremony again this year.

George Salazar will perform at the Drama Desk Awards, accompanied by Be More Chill composer-lyricist Joe Iconis.
(© David Gordon)

The Drama Desk has announced some of the presenters and performers at the 64th Annual Drama Desk Awards, taking place on Sunday, June 2, at the Town Hall.

There will be performances by Drama Desk nominee George Salazar (Be More Chill) accompanied by fellow nominee Joe Iconis; Drama Desk nominees Stacey Sargeant and Andrew R. Butler (Rags Parkland Sings the Songs of the Future); and Drama Desk and Tony Award winner Lillias White, who will sing during the In Memoriam.

And presenters will include Bertie Carvel (Ink), Billy Crudup, Joel Grey (Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish), Lesli Margherita, Lindsay Mendez, Jessie Mueller, Lynn Nottage (The Secret Life of Bees), Phylicia Rashad, and Ethan Slater. More presenters will be announced shortly.

Matt Britten, Broadway Brands CEO, will serve as executive producer and Joey Parnes Productions will produce the ceremony, as it has since 2012. The show will be written by Bill Rosenfield, returning for his seventh year; directed by Mark Waldrop, marking his fourth year; and music-directed by Dan Lipton, making his fifth appearance.

The Drama Desk Awards, which are presented annually, honor outstanding achievement by professional theater artists on Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway. The Drama Desk Awards are the only major theater honors for which productions on Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off-Broadway compete against each other in the same categories.