TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Aladdin Stars to Announce 2016 Drama League Award Nominees

This year's nominees will be announced at Sardi's restaurant.

Aladdin stars Adam Jacobs, Courtney Reed, and James Monroe Iglehart will announce the nominees for the 82nd Annual Drama League Awards.
(© David Gordon)

Adam Jacobs, Courtney Reed, and Tony Award winner James Monroe Iglehart — Aladdin, Princess Jasmine, and the Genie of Broadway's Aladdin — will announce the 2016 Drama League Award nominees from Sardi's on Wednesday, April 20, at 11am.

Jacobs, Reed, and Iglehart will be announcing the nominees for Outstanding Production of a Play, Outstanding Production of a Musical, Outstanding Revival of a Play, Outstanding Revival of a Musical, and the Distinguished Performance Award.

The Drama League's previously announced Special Recognition Awards Recipients include Deaf West Theatre (Spring Awakening), receiving the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award; Tony, Grammy, and Pulitzer Prize winner Sheldon Harnick (She Loves Me, Fiddler on the Roof), receiving the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award; and Olivier Award winner Ivo van Hove (A View From the Bridge, Arthur Miller's The Crucible.), receiving the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.

The 82nd Annual Drama League Awards will be held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square on Friday, May 20, at 11:30am. First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, the Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America, recognizing distinguished productions, performances, and exemplary career achievements.

For tickets to the Drama League Awards, click here.