TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Lin-Manuel Miranda, Michelle Williams, Cynthia Erivo, and More at Drama League Awards

The annual event honors the stars of the season.

Lin-Manuel Miranda brings his parents, Luz and Luis Miranda, to the 2016 Drama League Awards.
(© David Gordon)

The 82nd Annual Drama League Awards were presented May 20 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, the Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members — specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and off-Broadway productions.

The full list of nominees can be found here.

The Drama League's 2016 special recognition honorees are as follows: Fiddler on the Roof and She Loves Me creator Sheldon Harnick will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award; Deaf West Theatre will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theater Award for its vital work; and Ivo van Hove will receive the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing.