Cast Announced for FUREE on Pins & N...
VIDEO FLASH: Bono Discusses Initial Cri...

Drama League Award Winners Are Announced

By New York City
Mark Rylance
(© Tristan Fuge)
Mark Rylance
(© Tristan Fuge)
The 77th Annual Drama League Awards were presented at a ceremony and luncheon, held on Friday, May 20 in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel. Kathleen Turner served as host.

The Book of Mormon won for Distinguished Production of a Musical, while the award for Distinguished Production of a Play was given to War Horse.

The Normal Heart was honored with the award for Distinguished Revival of a Play, with Distinguished Revival of a Musical being given to Anything Goes.

Mark Rylance was given the Distinguished Performance Award for his work in both Jerusalem and La Bete.

Non-competitive awards were also handed out to Susan Stroman, who received The Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing; Whoopi Goldberg, who was given the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award; and Liza Minnelli, who received the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award.

Presenters included Douglas Aibel, Brian Bedford, Josh Gad, James Earl Jones, John Kander, Patina Miller, Daniel Radcliffe, Andrew Rannells, and Robin Williams.

For the full list of Drama League nominees, see TheaterMania's previous story, here.

comments powered by Disqus

By providing information about entertainment and cultural events on this site, shall not be deemed to endorse,
recommend, approve and/or guarantee such events, or any facts, views, advice and/or information contained therein.

©1999-2014, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy