Bare Facts
That Was the Week That Was

Drama League Announces Awards to Murphy, Wolfe, and the Encores! Series

By New York City
Donna Murphy in WonderfulTown
photo © Paul Kolnik
Donna Murphy in WonderfulTown
photo © Paul Kolnik
The Drama League has announced the recipients of its 2004 Special Awards.

Donna Murphy, currently starring in the Broadway revival of Wonderful Town, will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award; producer-writer-director George C. Wolfe will receive the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing; and the City Center Encores! series will be acknowledged with the Unique Contribution to Theatre Award.

All of the above honors will be presented, along with the Drama League's annual awards for Distinguished Production of a Play, Musical, Revival of a Play, and Revival of a Musical, at a luncheon ceremony to be held on Friday, May 14 at the Grand Hyatt Hotel. Nominees for these awards will be announced on April 21.

comments powered by Disqus

By providing information about entertainment and cultural events on this site, shall not be deemed to endorse,
recommend, approve and/or guarantee such events, or any facts, views, advice and/or information contained therein.

©1999-2014, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy