TheaterMania Logo

About this show

Long Yu, conductor Yuja Wang, pianist Mussorgsky, Khovantchina: Introduction: "Dawn on the Moscow River"; Rachmaninoff, Piano Concerto No. 2 (with Yuja Wang); Chen Qigang, Iris Devoilee* Shanghai Symphony Orchestra (SSO) is the earliest and the best-known ensemble of its kind in Asia, through which Chinese symphonic music has developed. Formed in 1879 as the Shanghai Public Band, it developed into an orchestra in 1907, and was renamed the Shanghai Municipal Council Symphony Orchestra in 1922. Notably under the baton of the Italian conductor Mario Paci, the orchestra promoted Western music and trained young Chinese talents in this style. It introduced the first Chinese orchestral work to Asian audiences and has been reputed as the "the best in the Far East." Performing with SSO is pianist Yuja Wang. At age 21, Wang has firmly established herself as one of the most significant pianists of her generation. *Poetic pseudonym or imaginary figure, Iris was (in the 17th and 18th centuries) the name of a mysterious woman to whom a poem was dedicated. Iris Devoilee includes 3 sopranos (Peking Opera style) and 3 traditional Chinese instruments, the Pipa, Erhu, and Zheng.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:State Theatre New Jersey, South Jersey