About This Show

The brilliant contemporary pianist Marcus Roberts and his ensemble take us on a journey through the compositions and innovations of piano pioneers Earl “Fatha” Hines, whose strident style made the 1920s roar, and Earl “Bud” Powell, whose powerful pianistics brought the instrument into the modern age. Featuring trumpeters Marcus Printup and Alphonso Horne, trombonist Ron Westray, saxophonist Ted Nash, tenor saxophonists Stephen Riley and Ricardo Pascal, bassist Rodney Jordan, and drummer Jason Marsalis.

Free pre-concert discussion nightly at 7pm.

Show Details

Dates: Opening Night: April 28, 2011 Final Performance: April 29, 2011
Location: Jazz at Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall, New York City

Broadway and 60th Streets,

New York,


View Map

You Might Also Like

New Victory Dance

Performances begin: July 11, 2024

Alex Newell and the Gospel of a Diva

Performances begin: June 27, 2024

Dances With Ancestors

Performances begin: July 18, 2024

The Edge of Nature

Performances begin: June 14, 2024