TheaterMania Logo
Home link

About this show

This year's recipients include: Sue-Ellen Case Double Edge Theatre The Foundry Theatre LAByrinth Theater Company Pregones Theatre Douglas Turner Ward Every year, the theatre community comes together to recognize and support theatre artists and companies who are dedicated to creating work that embraces humanistic and social concerns. Established in 1998 by the Castillo Theatre, past recipients have included: Laurie Anderson, The Bread and Puppet Theater, Ed Bullins, Ben Caldwell, The Carpetbag Theatre, Joseph Chaikin, Kathleen Chalfant, The Children's Prison Arts Project, The Culture Project, The 52nd Street Project, The Flea, Laurence Holder, Irondale Ensemble Project, The Living Theatre, Charles Mee, Ishmael Reed, The San Francisco Mime Troupe, Richard Schechner, Split Britches, the Steppenwolf Theatre Company, Target Margin Theater, El Teatro Campesino, Robert Wilson, and Woolly Mammoth, among many others. Join the Castillo Theatre on May 22 to celebrate the importance of cutting-edge and community theatre work! "To receive an award for political theatre in Europe is not so unusual. Everyone is doing political theatre. But to receive an award for political theatre in America is a miracle!" -- Mario Fratti, playwright For more information call Diane Stiles, Executive Producer at 212-941-9400 ext. 312. Or call the Castillo Theatre box office at 212-941-1234 (weekdays 7-9:30pm; Sat-Sun 1-4pm).

Show Details