TheaterMania Logo

About this show

New Music Downtown is an exciting concert of new works for strings, percussion, and keyboards by some of today's most exciting emerging composers. Probe the depths of musical space with Matt Briggs in "Europa Lander Music," contemplate the spirit of a Japanese forest with Moto Osada in his "Sylvan Lay and Pastoral Air," enjoy a musical feast with Kenji Bunch in his "Cookbook," raise your fists with Kevin Puts in his "And Legions Will Rise," cross into the jazz spectrum with Garah Landes in his "Last Look," and celebrate the NYAE premiere of Tudor Maican Dominik's winning piece in our annual 2007 Young Composer Competition. See what today's new generation of composers and performers are up to in New Music Downtown -- Music for Strings, Percussion, and Keyboards. Enjoy the reception after the concert! The program: Sylvan Lay and Pastoral Air by Moto Osada And Legions Will Rise by Kevin Puts *String Quartet #2 by Tudor Dominik Maican Cookbook by Kenji Bunch Last Look by Garah Landes Europa Lander by Matthew Briggs *NYAE 2007 Young Composer Competition winner The performers: Victoria Bass, cello Erik Carlson, violin Joanna Frankel, violin Gilad Harel, clarinet Synchronicity (Garah Landes, piano; Gregory Landes, percussion) Makoto Nakura, marimba Monica Ohuchi, piano Mary Rowell, violin Erin Wright, viola

Show Details

  • Running Time:1hr 20min (1 intermission)
  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:Flea Theater, New York City