TheaterMania Logo

About this show

George Szell - Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 4 (1913) Paul Kletzki - Violin Concerto, Op. 19 (1928) U.S. - Premiere Robert Davidovici - Violin Harold Farberman - Double Concerto for Violin and Percussion (2006) New York - Premiere Guillermo Figueroa - Violin Simon Boyar - Percussion Leonard Bernstein - Symphony No. 2 "The Age of Anxiety" (1949-65) Benjamin Hochman - Piano Famed conductor George Szell's ear for balance and orchestral transparency is legendary. Less known is his work as a composer; his Variations show a remarkable talent and promise that was never fulfilled. Paul Kletzki's glowing Violin Concerto is one of his few works that was not lost during the Second World War. While "The Age of Anxiety" captures Bernstein's musical impressions of Auden's poetry, the title itself suggests a personal struggle between conductor and composer. Also featured is the New York premiere of a new work by revered pedagogue and conductor Harold Farberman.

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:David Geffen Hall, New York City