Theater News

Ethan Slater Named Honorary Chair of 2018 New York Musical Festival

The festival also announces initial casting, including Leslie Margherita in ”Emojiland” and Wilson Jermaine Heredia in ”Pedro Pan”.

Ethan Slater will be the 2018 New York Musical Festival Honorary Chair.
Ethan Slater will be the 2018 New York Musical Festival honorary chair.
(© David Gordon)

The New York Musical Festival has announced that Tony Award nominee and Drama Desk winner Ethan Slater (SpongeBob SquarePants) will be the 2018 NYMF honorary chair.

The festival also announced initial casting for the 2018 season, running July 9-August 5 at various locations on West 42nd Street. The casting is as follows:


'68: An American Musical will feature Bob Gaynor (Catch Me If You Can) and Mary Callanan (Bandstand).

Emojiland will feature Josh Lamon (Groundhog Day) and Olivier Award winner Lesli Margherita (Matilda).

If Sand Were Stone will feature Tracy McDowell (Rent).

Interstate will star Sushma Saha, found through a national search to play the part of Henry, an Asian high school student from small-town Kentucky who comes out as transgender.

Pedro Pan will feature Tony Award winner Wilson Jermaine Heredia (Rent) and Natalie Toro (In the Heights).

Sonata, 1962 will feature Becca Ayers (Dear Evan Hansen) and Aaron Ramey (Bridges of Madison County).


The Civility of Albert Cashier will feature Dani Shay (The Glee Project 2), with direction by Shakina Nayfack (Difficult People).

Healing Retreat will feature Tom Berklund (A Chorus Line).

Storming Heaven will feature Liana Hunt (Newsies), James Brown III (Frozen), Larkin Bogan (Wicked), and Brandon Ellis (Bandstand).

Victory Train will feature direction by Tony nominee and Drama Desk nominee Lynne Taylor-Corbett (Swing!).