TheaterMania Logo
Music News

Audra McDonald's New Album, Go Back Home, to be Released on May 21

The solo CD will include songs by Stephen Sondheim, Kander and Ebb, Michael John LaChiusa, and Rodgers and Hammerstein. logo

Album artwork
(© Autumn de Wilde)
Five-time Tony Award winner Audra McDonald will sing the songs of Stephen Sondheim, Adam Guettel, Rodgers and Hammerstein, and Kander and Ebb on her newest album, Go Back Home, set for release on May 21 via the Nonesuch Records label. It will be her first solo album in seven years.

The album is named for the wistful ballad from the Kander and Ebb musical The Scottsboro Boys, which opens the disc. The track list also includes Sondheim's "The Glamorous Life" from the film version of A Little Night Music; Marcy Heisler and Zina Goldrich's "Baltimore"; Kander and Ebb's "First You Dream" from Steel Pier; "Tavern," with music by Will Reynolds and text by Edna St. Vincent Millay; Guettel's "Migratory V" from Saturn Returns; Michael John LaChiusa's "Virtue" and "Married Love," inspired by Marlene Dietrich's ABC; "I'll Be Here" from Adam Gwon's Ordinary Days; Steven Marzullo's "Some Days," with text by James Baldwin; "Edelweiss" from Rodgers and Hammerstein's The Sound of Music; and "Make Someone Happy" from the Jule Styne, Betty Comden, and Adolph Green musical Do Re Mi.

In 2012, McDonald received her fifth Tony Award for her performance as Bess in The Gershwins' Porgy & Bess. She also received the honor for her work in A Raisin in the Sun, Ragtime, Master Class, and Carousel. Her many stage credits also include Marie Christine and 110 in the Shade, as well as the film versions of A Raisin in the Sun and Wit.

Go Back Home was produced by Doug Petty, with Andy Einhorn as musical director. The album will be celebrated on Friday, May 24 with the PBS Broadcast of Audra McDonald in Concert: Go Back Home. For more information and to preorder the album, click here.


Tagged in this Story