TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Maltz Jupiter, GableStage, and Zoetic Stage Dominate the Carbonell Awards

The Carbonell Awards ceremony celebrated the arts community of South Florida on Monday evening.

Artwork, courtesy of the Carbonell Awards
On Monday, April 1, Fort Lauderdale's Broward Center for the Performing Arts hosted the 37th annual Carbonell Awards, honoring South Florida's breadth of theatrical talent. Nominations for the evening's 20 categories were distributed among 18 of South Florida's theaters, though the night belonged to just three. Maltz Jupiter Theatre boasted a win in every musical category, a feat that no other company has accomplished since the Miami Beach Theatre of the Performing Arts swept the musical categories 34 years ago. GableStage of Coral Gables and Zoetic Stage of Miami split the accolades for the play categories, with GableStage picking up four awards including Best Production of a Play for the drama Ruined and Best Director going to Joseph Adler. Zoetic Stage won three, including Best Actor for Tom Wahl in I Am My Own Wife and Best Supporting Actress for Elena Maria Garcia. At the end of the night, Palm Beach County theaters walked away with 10 awards, closely followed by Miami-Dade theaters, earning 8 awards, and Broward County theaters picking up 2.

In a tradition of honoring excellence in theater, the Carbonell Awards ceremony also recognized Mario Ernesto Sanchez, founder and Producing Artistic Director of Teatro Avante and the International Hispanic Theatre Festival of Miami, with the George Abbott Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Arts. The Ruth Foreman Award, which recognizes significant contributions to South Florida theater development by an individual or group, was awarded to Actors' Equity Association in honor of its 100 years of representing professional American stage actors and stage managers.

$1,000 scholarships were awarded to four South Florida students who are pursuing careers in theater or journalism. The recipients were: Sammi-Jack Martincak (Miami Dade County) from New World School of the Arts; Christian Frost (Broward County) from J.P. Taravella High School; Vanessa Contreras (Palm Beach County) from John L. Leonard High School; and Jade Zaroff (Palm Beach County) from West Boca Community High School.

Take a look at the complete list of Carbonell Award winners below:

Best New Work (play or musical)
Moscow, Michael McKeever, Zoetic Stage

Best Production of a Play
Ruined, GableStage

Best Director/Play
Joseph Adler, Ruined, GableStage

Best Actor/Play
Tom Wahl, I Am My Own Wife, Zoetic Stage

Best Actress/Play
Lela Elam, Ruined, GableStage

Best Supporting Actor/Play
Robert Strain, Ruined, GableStage

Best Supporting Actress/Play
Elena Maria Garcia, Moscow, Zoetic Stage

Best Production of a Musical
The Music Man, Maltz Jupiter Theatre

Best Director/Musical
Marsha Milgrom Dodge, Hello Dolly!, Maltz Jupiter Theatre

Best Actor/Musical
Matt Loehr, The Music Man, Maltz Jupiter Theatre

Best Actress/Musical
Vicki Lewis, Hello Dolly!, Maltz Jupiter Theatre

Best Supporting Actor/Musical
Matt Loehr, Hello Dolly!, Maltz Jupiter Theatre

Best Supporting Actress/Musical
Angie Radosh, Cabaret, Maltz Jupiter Theatre

Musical Direction/Musical
Anne Shuttlesworth, The Music Man, Maltz Jupiter Theatre

Shea Sullivan, The Music Man, Maltz Jupiter Theatre

Best Scenic Design/play or musical
Michael Amico, Talley's Folly, Palm Beach Dramaworks

Best Lighting Design/play or musical
Margaret M. Ledford, The Turn of the Screw, The Naked Stage

Best Costume Design/play or musical
Jose M. Rivera, The Music Man, Maltz Jupiter Theatre

Best Sound Design/play or musical
Matt Corey, The Birds, Mosaic Theatre

Best Ensemble Production (play or musical)
Rumors, Broward Stage Door