Ghostlight to Record Blank Theatre Compa...
It's an Art!

Burton, Lewis, Marshall, Powers, et al. Set for L.A. Ovation Awards

By New York City
Kate Burton
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Kate Burton
(© Joseph Marzullo/Retna)
Kate Burton, Gil Cates, Mary Jo Catlett, Sheldon Epps, Orlando Jones, Dan Lauria, Michele Lee, Vicki Lewis, Bob Mackie, Garry Marshall, Alec Mapa, Stefanie Powers, Michael Ritchie, and Yeardley Smith will be among the presenters and attendees at the L.A. Stage Alliance's 2007 Ovation Awards, honoring the best in Los Angeles theater, to be held at 7:30pm on November 12 at the Orpheum Theatre in Los Angeles. The awards will be hosted by Neil Patrick Harris.

As previously reported, the organization's Career Achievement Award will go to actress Annette Bening. The Community Outreach Award will be presented to the Actors' Fund. In competitive categories, The Center Theatre Group -- which consists of the Mark Taper Forum, The Ahmanson Theatre, and the Kirk Douglas Theatre -- earned a total of 17 nominations, including 10 nods for its production of the musical Sleeping Beauty Wakes.

The Pasadena Playhouse earned 15 nominations, with 12 of those nods for its revival of the Cole Porter musical Can-Can; The Theatre @ Boston Court earned 14 nominations, with 10 nods for its musical Paradise Lost; and the Geffen Playhouse earned 13 nominations, thanks to Hershey Felder, whose shows Monseiur Chopin and George Gershwin Alone picked up 12 nods, including two Lead Actor in a Musical nods for Felder.

Tickets to the awards can be ordered by calling 213-614-0556 x40. For a complete list of nominees and more information, visit

comments powered by Disqus

More in Theater News

It's an Art!

Read Now »

By providing information about entertainment and cultural events on this site, shall not be deemed to endorse,
recommend, approve and/or guarantee such events, or any facts, views, advice and/or information contained therein.

©1999-2014, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use & Privacy Policy