Travis Sullivan’s Casual Sextet

Buy Tickets


About This Show

Following in the wake of his critically acclaimed big band project The Bjorkestra, bandleader, multi-instrumentalist and composer Travis Sullivan continues to display his flair for innovation and exploration with his modern jazz unit The Casual Sextet.

Travis Sullivan, saxophone
Jen Shyu, vocals
Rez Abbasi, guitar
Art Hirahara, keyboards
Janek Gwizdala, bass
Dan Weiss, drums

Serving as a vehicle for Sullivan’s original jazz compositions and arrangements that draw upon influences as diverse as Stravinsky, Wayne Shorter, and 80’s pop, the “very probing, introspective post-bopper” (All Music Guide) once again demonstrates his ability to lead a band that represents “the hippest of New York’s downtown jazz scene” (The Boston Globe). Vocalist Jen Shyu, long standing collaborator & guitarist Rez Abbasi, keyboardist Art Hirahara, producer/bassist Janek Gwizdala, and drum/tabla virtuoso Dan Weiss round out this highly interactive ensemble. Come and experience Travis Sullivan’s Casual Sextet, and don’t forget to use protection!

Purchase of tickets does NOT guarantee a table reservation; you must call to reserve seats. Seating, as well as standing-room, is available only on a first-come, first-served basis for all shows without a dinner reservation.

Two drink or $12 food minimum per person is standard.

Show Details

Dates: One Night Only: May 10, 2007

You Might Also Like


Sign-up to receive discount ticket offers and theater news

Receive discounts to popular shows and the latest news on Broadway and beyond. Enter your email below and click subscribe to receive offers.