TheaterMania Logo

About this show

Bat Boy composer/lyricist Laurence O'Keefe brings Larry's Rites of Spring to Birdland as part of The New Season, a series of concerts at Birdland featuring top Broadway performers and composers. The show features O'Keefe's smart, savvy and often hilarious songs (with his and/or Kleban award-winning Nell Benjamin's lyrics), sung by a cast which includes Kerry Butler (Little Shop of Horrors, Hairspray, Bat Boy), Christian Campbell (All My Children, Reefer Madness), Joe Cassidy (Les Miserables), Julie Garnye (Hair concert), Deven May (Bat Boy, NYC and UK), Kevin Pariseau (I Love You, You're Perfect…), Maurey Richards (lead singer/The Platters, Bat Boy UK), Mo Rocca (The Daily Show), Nicole Ruth Snelson (Annie Get Your Gun), and Emma Williams (Bat Boy UK and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang UK). Mr. O'Keefe hosts from the piano, along with his band, Midnight Mambo Monkeys. Performances include "Mine All Mine," a new song written for the UK production of Bat Boy: The Musical, "sensitive Song" from Cops: The Musical, songs from Sarah, Plain and Tall and Cam Jansen. Mr. O'Keefe is currently working on the musicalization of Legally Blonde with lyricist Nell Benjamin. The New Season at Birdland is presented by Jim Caruso, in association with

Show Details

  • Dates:Closed on
  • Location:Birdland, New York City