About This Show

Bea Arthur, Carol Channing, Harvey Fierstein, Manny Kladitis, Elaine Krauss, Stewart Lane, Angela Lansbury, Arthur Laurents, Samuel (Biff) Liff, James M. Nederlander, and Donald Pippin head an Honorary Gala Committee saluting the career of composer and lyricist Jerry Herman at Encompass New Opera Theatre’s Benefit Gala. Lyricist Sheldon Harnick and composer Charles Strouse serve as Honorary Gala Co-Chairs. Michael Kerker of ASCAP hosts the evening, with performances by Florence Lacey, K.T. Sullivan, Leslie Uggams, Michael Valenti, and JoAnne Worley.

Jerry Herman’s hit Broadway musical, Hello Dolly won the Tony Award for Best Musical in 1965 and played more than 2500 performances. His legendary Broadway shows include Mame, Dear World, Mack and Mabel, Milk and Honey, The Grand Tour, and La Cage aux Folles, which received nine Tony nominations including six awards for Best Musical, Best Actor in a Musical (Harvey Fierstein), Best Score (Jerry Herman), and Best Costume Design (Theoni V. Aldredge). Renowned for his songs for female leads, Herman created a Broadway production in 1985, Jerry’s Girls, which included 36 of his songs performed by his celebrated leading ladies.

Show Details

Dates: One Night Only: May 20, 2007

You Might Also Like