TheaterMania Logo
Music News

The Broadway Cast of Pippin Has Some "Magic To Do" in the Recording Studio

Ghostlight Records will produce the new Broadway cast recording of Pippin, set to be released this June. logo

The cast of Pippin
(© Michael J. Lutch)
Roger O. Hirson and Stephen Schwartz's Pippin is heading to the recording studio on April 29 to produce a new cast recording for the much loved coming-of-age musical. Produced by Ghostlight Records, the new Broadway cast recording will feature material from the show never previously recorded. The album will be will be coproduced by composer Stephen Schwartz and Kurt Deutsch as well as executive-produced by Howard and Janet Kagan.

The American Repertory Theater (A.R.T.) production of Pippin is directed by Diane Paulus and features choreography by Chet Walker in the style of Bob Fosse. This new production also features original circus elements by Gypsy Snider of the Montreal-based circus company Les 7 doigts de la main (also known as 7 Fingers). With a book by Roger O. Hirson and music and lyrics by Stephen Schwartz, Pippin features music supervision and arrangements by Nadia DiGiallonardo, orchestrations by Tony Award winner Larry Hochman, scenic design by Tony Award winner Scott Pask, lighting design by Tony Award winner Kenneth Posner, costume design by Dominique Lemieux, and sound design by Jonathan Deans and Garth Helm.

The "extraordinary" story of Pippin follows the royal heir's journey to find his "corner of the sky" with the help (or hindrance) from a mysterious group of performers. The original Tony Award-winning production opened on Broadway in 1972 under the direction of the infamous Bob Fosse. This "long past due" reincarnation of the beloved musical comedy will open on Broadway April 25.

The cast features Matthew James Thomas (Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark) in the title role, Tony and Olivier Award nominee Patina Miller (Sister Act) as the Leading Player, Tony Award nominee Terrence Mann (The Addams Family) as Charles, Tony Award nominee Charlotte d'Amboise (A Chorus Line) as Fastrada, Erik Altemus (The Fantasticks) as Lewis, Rachel Bay Jones (Hair) as Catherine, Andrew Cekala (Ragtime) and Ashton Woerz (Priscilla Queen of the Desert) as Theo, and Tony Award winner Andrea Martin (Oklahoma) as Berthe. Other members of the company include Grégory Arsenal, Lolita Costet, Colin Cunliffe, Andrew Fitch, Orion Griffiths, Viktoria Grimmy, Sabrina Harper, Olga Karmansky, Bethany Moore, Brad Musgrove, Stephanie Pope, Philip Rosenberg, Yannick Thomas, Molly Tynes, and Anthony Wayne.

There is "No Time At All" better than now to see Pippin. For more information and ticket sales, visit their website here.


Tagged in this Story