TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Original Off-Broadway Cast Recording of The Shaggs: Philosophy of the World Announces Release Date

The album captures the audio from the spring 2011 Playwrights Horizons and New York Theater Workshop coproduction. logo
Sara Sokolovic, Emily Walton, Jamey Hood, and Peter Friedman in The Shaggs.
(© Joan Marcus)

The critically acclaimed score of The Shaggs: Philosophy of the World has been recorded by Yellow Sound Label and will be released in digital and CD formats on June 10. Michael Croiter and Aaron Gandy are coproducing the album.

The release follows the show's spring 2011 New York run, which was coproduced by Playwrights Horizons and New York Theatre Workshop. With music by Gunnar Madsen, lyrics by Joy Gregory and Gunnar Madsen, and a book by Joy Gregory, The Shaggs is based on a true story set in Fremont, New Hampshire, in the early 1970s and details the short-lived career of a band that defined cult status.

The album features performances by original off-Broadway cast members Kevin Cahoon, Peter Friedman, Annie Golden, Jamey Hood, Steve Routman, Cory Michael Smith, Sarah Sokolovic, and Emily Walton, with orchestrations and vocal arrangements by Madsen and musical direction by Gandy.

The musicians on the album include Gandy (keyboard and vocals), LeRoy Bach (guitar/keyboard), Steve Gilewski (bass), and David Jerome Hilliard (drums). A concert and CD release party for The Shaggs: Philosophy of the World will be hosted by Golden at 9pm on June 23 at The Bowery Electric.


Tagged in this Story