TheaterMania Logo
Home link
Theater News

The Final Tracks of the Hadestown Album Have Dropped

This Broadway cast recording release has been unlike any other in Broadway history.

André De Shields as Hermes in Hadestown.
(© David Gordon)

The final tracks of the Hadestown original Broadway cast recording are now available for digital download.

On June 9, Say It Again Records announced the unusual album release schedule that would be adopted for the Hadestown soundtrack: Rather than a single album release, the tracks would be distributed in five chunks: two comprising the best-known songs (such as "Wait for Me" and "Livin' It Up on Top''), and three known as "character drops," each of which would concern two of the featured characters. The final drop, "Orpheus and Eurydice," was released today.

With book and music by Anaïs Mitchell, Hadestown is described as follows: "Following two intertwining love stories — that of young dreamers Orpheus and Eurydice, and that of King Hades and his wife Persephone — Hadestown invites audiences on a hell-raising journey to the underworld and back."

Directed by Rachel Chavkin, Hadestown stars Reeve Carney, André De Shields, Amber Gray, Eva Noblezada, and Patrick Page. They are joined by Jewelle Blackman, Yvette Gonzalez-Nacer, and Kay Trinidad as the Fates. The Workers Chorus is played by Afra Hines, Timothy Hughes, John Krause, Kimberly Marable, and Ahmad Simmons. The full cast includes swings Malcolm Armwood, T. Oliver Reid, Jessie Shelton, and Khaila Wilcoxon.


Tagged in this Story