TheaterMania Logo
Home link

About this show

Carmen De Lavallade, John Kander, and Harold Prince are being honored at the 2nd Annual Chita Rivera Awards. Actor, dancer, and choreographer Carmen De Lavallade is receiving the second annual Lifetime Achievement Award; iconic composer John Kander is receiving the Outstanding Contribution to Musical Theater Award; and legendary theater director and producer Harold Prince is receiving the SDC Director Award for Exemplary Collaboration With Choreographers. All three winners have been Kennedy Center honorees.

Carrying the namesake of one of the great dance icons of the American musical theater, the mission of the Chita Rivera Awards is to celebrate dance and choreographic excellence — past, present, and future. The awards honor the superb achievement of each nominee, while recognizing the immeasurable talents and passion of every theatrical choreographer and dancer. Additionally, through education and scholarships, the awards are committed to nurturing future generations, as well as preserving notable dance history.

Show Details