About This Show

photo credit: Leslie Plesser
Manny Laureano, Music Director
Michael Sutton, Violin & Conductor
The BSO is pleased to present the Minnesota premiere performance of Margaret Bond's
Montgomery Variations, a beautiful and powerful piece. Our own Michael Sutton will rise from his seat as concertmaster to lead the BSO strings in a violin solo by Franz Schubert. A full-length musical joke in the form of Shostakovich's 9th symphony will round out the program, guaranteed to leave you smiling at his many musical winks and nods!
Margaret Bonds – Montgomery Variations
Franz Schubert – Rondo in A for Violin, D 438
Michael Sutton, violin & conductor
Dmitri Shostakovich – Symphony No. 9 in E-flat major, Op. 70

BSO concerts are subject to public health and venue guidelines at the time of the performance. Any vaccination and/or masking requirements will be posted here and on the Bloomington Symphony website one month prior to the event. 

Show Details

Dates: Opening Night: November 20, 2022 Final Performance: November 20, 2022