TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

UPDATED: David Hyde Pierce, Kristine Nielsen, and More to Round Out Drama Desk Panel

Nielsen and Pierce will join Jayne Houdyshell and Elizabeth Marvel to speak at Sardi's on March 22. logo

Jayne Houdyshell
(© Tristan Fuge)
UPDATED: The final list of panelists for the Drama Desk luncheon and panel discussion has been released. The March 22 discussion will bring together an impressive group of five Broadway veterans. Elizabeth Marvel (Picnic) will join previously announced panelist, Tony nominee Jayne Houdyshell (Dead Accounts). Tony winner David Hyde Pierce (Curtains) and Kristine Nielsen (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson) are new additions to the group, with David Strathairn of Broadway's recent production of The Heiress no longer on the roster.

February 22, 2013 - Broadway's Elizabeth Marvel (Picnic) will join David Strathairn (The Heiress) for the Drama Desk annual spring panel discussion and luncheon on March 22 at Sardi's. The performers will discuss challenges actors face when bringing stories to life in front of an audience.

The panel discussion will be moderated by Ronald Rand, Drama Desk member and founder/publisher of The Soul of the American Actor newspaper. More participants will be announced soon.

The Drama Desk Awards, formed in 1949, are given annually in a number of categories. They are the only major New York theater honors for which productions on Broadway, off-Broadway, and off-off Broadway compete against each other in the same category.

For tickets to the Drama Desk luncheon, click here.