TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

UPDATE: Laura Benanti, Stephanie J. Block, Jane Krakowski, and Laura Osnes Now to Headline Roundabout's Spring Gala

Cabaret Tony winner Alan Cumming will emcee the event on March 11.

Laura Benanti
(© Tristan Fuge)
UPDATE: Roundabout Theatre Company has announce that the Broadway Divas headlining its 2013 Spring Gala will now be Tony Award winners Laura Benanti (Gypsy) and Jane Krakowski (Nine), Stephanie J. Block (The Mystery of Edwin Drood), and Tony nominee Laura Osnes (Cinderella). There will also be special guest appearances by Tony award winner LaChanze (The Color Purple), and Tony Award nominee Charlotte d'Amboise (Pippin).

January 24, 2013 - Roundabout Theatre Company will toast the 30th anniversary of Artistic Director Todd Haimes at the producing organization's annual Spring Gala, A Celebration of Your Favorites, to be held Monday, March 11 at the Hammerstein Ballroom. Alan Cumming, who won a Tony Award for his performance as the Emcee in Roundabout's long-running revival of Cabaret, will, fittingly, emcee the festivities.

The evening, which includes a cocktail party, dinner, and live auction, will also include a one-night-only concert featuring Roundabout leading- lady alums Sutton Foster (who won a Tony for her performance in Anything Goes), Jane Krakowski (a Tony winner for Nine), five-time Tony winner Audra McDonald (who received one of her bajillion nominations for 110 in the Shade), and Kelli O'Hara (who received her second Tony nomination for The Pajama Game). Lonny Price (Company in Concert) will direct the tribute, with musical direction by Paul Gemignani. The ladies will perform their show-stopping numbers from each musical as well as a set of their personal favorites. Proceeds from the evening will benefit Roundabout's Musical Theatre Fund and Education programs.

A Celebration of Your Favorites is expected to attract a host of Roundabout alums, including Tony Award winners Michael Cerveris (Assassins), Nathan Lane (Waiting for Godot), Frank Langella (A Man for All Seasons), Cynthia Nixon (Distracted), and Mary-Louise Parker (Proof), among many others.

Click here for more information on attending the event.