TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Jake Gyllenhaal, Vanessa Redgrave, The Piano Lesson and More Receive Lucille Lortel Award Nominations

Winners of the off-Broadway honors will be announced on May 5. logo

Jake Gyllenhaal
(© David Gordon)
Signature Theatre Company's acclaimed revival of August Wilson's The Piano Lesson and Manhattan Theatre Club's production of the new musical Murder Ballad lead the list of this year's Lucille Lortel Award nominations, receiving six and five nods respectively. As previously reported, this year's ceremony will take place on May 5 at New York University's Skirball Center. 2013 nominee Aasif Mandvi (Disgraced) and Lucky Guy star Maura Tierney will serve as hosts.

Nominees in acting categories included Danny Burstein (Talley's Folly), Jake Gyllenhaal (If There Is I Haven't Found It Yet), America Ferrera (Bethany), and Vanessa Redgrave (The Revisionist), among others.

The Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were created in 1985 by the Off-Broadway League to recognize great contributions to the theater community that do not reach the Broadway stage. The voting committee includes theater journalists and academics, as well as representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors' Equity Association, Stage Directors and Choreographers Society, and the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

The full list of nominees is as follows.

Outstanding Play
Bethany by Laura Marks, produced by Women's Project Theater

Cock by Mike Bartlett, produced by Stuart Thompson, Jean Doumanian, Royal Court Theatre, William Berlind, Scott Delman, Dena Hammerstein, Jon B. Platt, Scott Rudin, Ted Snowdon, True Love Productions

Detroit by Lisa D'Amour, produced by Playwrights Horizons

The Flick by Annie Baker, produced by Playwrights Horizons

The Whale by Samuel D. Hunter, produced by Playwrights Horizons

Outstanding Musical
Dogfight by Benj Pasek, Justin Paul, and Peter Duchan, produced by Second Stage Theatre

Giant by Michael John LaChiusa and Sybille Pearson, based on the novel by Edna Ferber, produced by The Public Theater in association with The Dallas Theater Center

Murder Ballad by Julia Jordan and Juliana Nash, produced by Manhattan Theatre Club

The Other Josh Cohen by David Rossmer and Steve Rosen, produced by Amas Musical Theatre in association with Scandobean Productions, LLC

Skippyjon Jones by Eli Bolin and Kevin Del Aguila, produced by TheatreworksUSA

Outstanding Revival
All In The Timing by David Ives, produced by Primary Stages in association with Jamie deRoy

My Children! My Africa! by Athol Fugard, produced by Signature Theatre

Passion by Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine, produced by Classic Stage Company

The Piano Lesson by August Wilson, produced by Signature Theatre

Talley's Folly by Lanford Wilson, produced by Roundabout Theatre Company

Outstanding Solo Show
All the Rage, written and performed by Martin Moran, produced by piece by piece productions, Rising Phoenix Repertory in association with The Barrow Group

Jackie by Elfriede Jelinek, performed by Tina Benko, produced by Women's Project Theater

Title and Deed by Will Eno, performed by Conor Lovett, produced by Signature Theatre

Outstanding Director
Sam Gold, The Flick
Anne Kauffman, Belleville
Tina Landau, A Civil War Christmas
James Macdonald, Cock
Ruben Santiago-Hudson, The Piano Lesson

Outstanding Choreographer
George De La Peña, A Midsummer Night's Dream
Christopher Gattelli, Dogfight
Kyle Mullins, TRIASSIC PARQ: The Musical
Alex Sanchez, Giant
Doug Varone, Murder Ballad

Outstanding Lead Actor
Danny Burstein, Talley's Folly
Brandon J. Dirden, The Piano Lesson
Daniel Everidge, Falling
Shuler Hensley, The Whale
Aasif Mandvi, Disgraced

Outstanding Lead Actress
Quincy Tyler Bernstine, Neva
America Ferrera, Bethany
Vanessa Redgrave, The Revisionist
Roslyn Ruff, The Piano Lesson
Sharon Washington, Wild With Happy

Outstanding Featured Actor
David Wilson Barnes, Don't Go Gentle
Chuck Cooper, The Piano Lesson
Zach Grenier, Storefront Church
Jake Gyllenhaal, If There Is I Haven't Found It Yet
Mark Nelson, My Name Is Asher Lev

Outstanding Featured Actress
Eisa Davis, Luck of the Irish
Annie Funke, If There Is I Haven't Found It Yet
Rebecca Naomi Jones, Murder Ballad
Amanda Quaid, Luck of the Irish
Da'Vine Joy Randolph, What Rhymes with America

Outstanding Scenic Design
Beowulf Boritt, If There Is I Haven't Found It Yet
Miriam Buether, Cock
Clint Ramos, Wild With Happy
Louisa Thompson, Detroit
Mark Wendland, Murder Ballad

Outstanding Costume Design
Toni-Leslie James, A Civil War Christmas
Jessica Pabst, The Whale
Clint Ramos, Wild With Happy
Emily Rebholz, Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike
Anita Yavich, Golden Child

Outstanding Lighting Design
Jane Cox, The Flick
Rui Rita, The Piano Lesson
Ben Stanton, Belleville
Ben Stanton, Murder Ballad
Scott Zielinski, A Civil War Christmas

Outstanding Sound Design
Leah Gelpe, Slowgirl
Bray Poor, The Flick
Shane Rettig, Detroit '67
Jane Shaw, Jackie
Matt Tierney, Detroit


Lifetime Achievement Award - Todd Haimes

Playwrights' Sidewalk Inductee - Neil LaBute

Outstanding Body of Work Award - Theatre Development Fund

Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience - Old Hats, created and performed by Bill Irwin and David Shiner, with music by and featuring Nellie McKay, produced by Signature Theatre