TheaterMania Logo
TheaterMania U

Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival Winners Announced logo

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts has announced the national awardees of the 44th annual Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival (KCACTF).

In January and February of this year, these artists from eight regions presented their outstanding work and were selected to travel to Washington, D.C. for an expense-paid trip to participate in National Festival events taking place at the Kennedy Center.

The Michael Kanin Playwrighting Awards encourage and supports the development of student-written plays through a variety of honors. The Ken Ludwig Playwriting Scholarship went to Lupe Flores (Texas State University-San Marcos.) The John Cauble Award for Outstanding Short Play went to White or the Muskox Play by Jonathan Fitts (New York University.) The KCACTF Ten-Minute Play Award went to Starf*cker by Adam Pasen (Western Michigan University.) The Playwrights Center Core Apprentice Fellowship went to Basil Kreimendahl (University of Iowa) for Cost of a Goat and Orange Julius. The WordBRIDGE Fellowship went to Adam Pasen, of Western Michigan University, for his play badfic love. The Orchard Project Core Company Fellowship went to Michael Yichao Wang of California Institute of the Arts. The Artists Striving to End Poverty Scholarship went to Louisa Hill (University of Iowa.)

The Irene Ryan Acting Scholarships provide recognition and financial assistance to outstanding student performers wishing to pursue further education and professional development. This year, The Irene Ryan Acting Scholarships went to Kevin Percival, assisted by Laurel Sein, University of Oklahoma, and James Udom, assisted by Brian Smick, Diablo Valley College.

For the complete list of award winners click here.


Tagged in this Story