TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Signature Theatre Brings History to Life With Titanic: The Musical

Eric Shaeffer directs this reimagined production of the 1997 Tony-winning musical.

Erin Driscoll, Bobby Smith, and Hasani Allen star in Titanic, directed by Eric Schaeffer, at Signature Theatre.
(© Christopher Mueller)

Titanic: The Musical begins performances tonight at Signature Theatre.

This musical from Peter Stone and Maury Yeston tells the story of the ill-fated ocean liner that famously sank to the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean in 1912. Signature's reimagined production includes 360 degree staging encircling the Max Theatre. Eric Schaeffer directs.

"I've always loved the musical Titanic and I have felt that Signature should reinvent this musical for our audiences in an exciting new way," said artistic director Eric Schaeffer. "We've designed the Max Theatre to bring this epic scale musical to life with an imaginative three-story set. Audiences will feel they are aboard this ‘ship of dreams' surrounded by Maury Yeston's beautifully haunting score. It truly will be the musical event of the season in Washington and an experience like none other. I can't wait to share it with audiences."

The production features Hasani Allen (Jim Farrell), Iyona Blake (Caroline Neville), Christopher Bloch (E.J. Smith), Sean Burns (Bell Boy), Matt Conner (Charles Lightoller), Erin Driscoll (Kate Murphey), Jamie Eacker (Kate Mullins), Nick Lehan (Harold Bride), Florence Lacey (Ida Straus), Sam Ludwig (Frederick Barrett), Kevin McAllister (William Murdoch), Katie McManus (Kate McGowan), Christopher Mueller (Henry Etches), Tracy Lynn Olivera (Alice Beane), Lawrence Redmond (J. Bruce Ismay), Chris Sizemore (Charles Clarke), Bobby Smith (Thomas Andrews), Stephen Gregory Smith (Frederick Fleet), Russell Sunday (Edgar Beane), and John Leslie Wolfe (Isidor Straus).

The creative team includes Matthew Gardiner (choreography), James Moore (music direction), Joshua Clayton (orchestrations), Paul Tate dePoo III (scenic design), Frank Labovitz (costume design), Amanda Zieve (lighting design), Ryan Hickey (sound design), and Anne Nesmith (wig design).

Performances run through January 29.

For more information and tickets, click here.