TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Signature Theatre Announces Full Cast for Hairspray logo
Robert Aubry Davis
(© John Harrington)
Full casting has been announced for the Arlington, Virginia-based Signature Theatre's production of Hairspray, to run November 21-January 29. Eric Schaeffer will direct.

Based on the 1988 cult film directed by John Waters, Hairspray features music by Marc Shaiman, lyrics by Scott Wittman and Marc Shaiman, and a book by Mark O'Donnell and Thomas Meehan. The musical won eight 2003 Tony Awards, including "Best Musical."

As previously reported, National radio host Robert Aubry Davis will star as Edna Turnblad. The cast will also feature Carolyn Cole (Tracy Turnblad), Nova Y. Payton (Motormouth Mable), Sherri L. Edelen (Velma Von Tussle), Patrick Thomas Cragin (Link Larkin), Harry A. Winter (Wilbur Turnblad), Erin Driscoll (Amber Von Tussle), James Hayden Rodriguez (Seaweed), Stephen Gregory Smith (Corny Collins), and Lauren Williams (Penny Pingleton).

The ensemble will include Jennifer Cameron, Matthew Conner, Parker Drown, Jamie Eacker, Nick Hovsepian, Brandi Knox, Sean-Maurice Lynch, Kirstin Riegler, Nickolas Vaughan, Kara-Tameika Watkins, Matthew Wojtal, and Stephen Scott Wormley.

The creative team will include Karma Camp (choreographer), Dan Conway (set designer), Kathleen Geldard (costume designer), Colin K. Bills (lighting designer), and Matt Rowe (sound designer). Jon Kalbfleisch is the music director, with Gabriel Mangiante conducting a 9-piece orchestra.

For tickets and more information, click here.

Tagged in this Story