TheaterMania Logo
Home link

Signature Theatre Announces Full Cast, Creative Team for The Scottsboro Boys

John Kander and Fred Ebb's final musical collaboration will soon be making its DC premiere.

Lamont Walker II will star in Signature Theatre's Washington, DC, premiere production of The Scottsboro Boys.
(photo provided by the production)

Signature Theatre has announced the full cast and creative team for its upcoming Washington, DC, premiere of The Scottsboro Boys. John Kander and Fred Ebb's final musical collaboration will run at the MAX Theatre May 22-July 1.

The cast will include Jonathan Adriel as Andy Wright, Malik Akil (Holiday Inn) as Charles Weems and Victoria Price, Christopher Bloch as the Interlocutor, Chaz Alexander Coffin as Mr. Tambo, Felicia Curry as the Lady, C.K. Edwards (Shuffle Along) as Roy Wright, DeWitt Fleming Jr. as Ozie Powell and Ruby Bates, Andre Hinds as Willie Roberson, Darrell Wayne Purcell as Clarence Norris, Aramie Payton as Eugene Williams, Lamont Walker II as Haywood Paterson, Joseph Monroe Webb as Olen Montgomery, and Stephen Scott Wormley as Mr. Bones.

Under the direction of Joe Calarco, the creative team will include Jared Grimes (choreography), Brian P. Whitted (musical direction), Sybil R. Williams (dramaturgy), Daniel Conway (scenic design), Sherice Mojgani (lighting design), Tony Award nominee Emilio Sosa (costume design), Ryan Hickey (sound design), Casey Kaleba (fight choreography), and Kim James Bey (dialect coach).

The Scottsboro Boys tells the story of nine young black men who are falsely accused of rape by two white women and are subsequently convicted of the crime. Seven years' work of trials and appeals ensued, as did the passage of pivotal supreme court rulings that had a powerful effect on American history and the subsequent civil rights movement.