TheaterMania Logo
Theater News

Judith Thompson, Fire, et al. Win Toronto's Dora Mavor Moore Awards logo
Judith Thompson
(© David Laurence)
The 29th annual Dora Mavor Moore Awards were handed out at the Winter Garden Theatre, June 30. Hosted by cabaret artist Sharron Matthews with special guest, actor Thom Allison, the awards celebrate excellence in Toronto theatre, dance and opera. The Dora eligible shows for the 2007-2008 season totaled 219 in all categories, 47 of which were new plays or musicals in the General and Independent Theatre Divisions.

The Canadian Stage Company production of Fire was the big winner of the night, taking home awards for Outstanding Production of a Musical, Outstanding Musical Direction for Ted Dykstra and James MacDonald, Outstanding Performance by a Male in a Principal Role - Musical for Dykstra, and Outstanding Performance by a Female in a Principal Role - Musical for Nicole Underhay. Judith Thompson took the Outstanding New Play Award for The Palace of the End (originally commissioned by Epic Theatre Ensemble and currently playing Off-Broadway), and she also received a gift of $5,000 from the late Mrs. Bluma Appel.

Other award winners in the General Theatre Division include The December Man, Joseph Ziegler and Stuart Hughes for The Time of Your Life, Alisa Palmer for Top Girls, Lally Cadeau Rose, and Jim LeFrancois and David Oiye for Buddies in Bad Times Theatre's Arthouse Cabaret. Independent Theatre Division winners include Anusree Roy, with two awards for her show Pyaasa, Waiting for Godot, and Nicco Lorenzo Garcia for his performance in People Power.

Peggy Baker took two of the four awards in the Dance Division with Outstanding New Choreography and Outstanding Performance for Portal, and Harbourfront Centre won Outstanding Production for Chapel/Chapter (Bill T. Jones / Arnie Zane Dance Company).

For more information, visit

Tagged in this Story